Robert Connely Farr PANDORA SESSIONS

Robert Connely Farr
Pandora Sessions
Self Release

Raw Blues Rock From The Hill Country of Mississippi via Downtown Vancouver

I forget who first found who, but Robert Connely Farr is one of my favourite ever discoveries here on RMHQ. Even among Bluesers he is an acquired taste; but in a world where Heavy Rock Bands masquerade as Blues Bands and win Awards; Farr is like a breath of fresh air; sticking to his musical roots without a care for Commercial success…. he plays it, cos he loves it … and I love it too.
While I know him as a flagbearer for Bentonia Blues & Hill Country music (RL Burnside etc.) here; and he warned me in an e-mail, he’s changed direction somewhat, but still hanging on in there in the Hill Country of Mississippi but now via Downtown Vancouver.
Basically studio time was booked with nothing written down and alongside drummer Jay Bundy Johnson he pressed ‘record’ and let the emotions flow …. and the result is staggering in its intensity.
The first time I pressed ‘play’ my eyes widened and I elicited a long “Oooooh” as the tight and intense first song Everybody’s Dyin’ enveloped the room like a smog, as the slow and ‘heavy’ *bass driven beat pressed against my chest.
There are many subtle and less than subtle differences between Heavy Blues and Heavy Rock; and what we have here is very much the former; with the bass and drums dictating the timing and pace, allowing Farr the freedom to add sparky guitar licks and use his slurry voice as a fourth musical instrument.
The only flaw I have is that I haven’t been issued with a set of lyrics; so some songs have passed me by as I feel thunderstruck by the overall sound of what I’m hearing; How Am I? and Where I Come From are prime examples. I instantly loved them, but can’t tell you what they are about; I’ve had similar problems with Farr’s mentors RL Burnside and Jimmy ‘Duck’ Holmes over the years; but that doesn’t hamper my enjoyment one iota.
Some songs though, are mixed with the vocals front and centre, showing what an ace songwriter Robert Connely Farr is; I urge you to listen to Jackson Town and/or the razors edge Things They Tellin’ You and not think you are listening to a Mastercraftsman from back in the day.
Baring in mind Farr and crew created these songs on the hoof in the studio; the likes of the stompingly good Prowler, Take It Slow and Train Keep Rollin’ sound like something you’d have expected to hear on the early Free and Groundhogs LP’s and still be talking about them fifty years later.
On that theory; Runnin’ Hiding Jam is a really raw instrumental that sent shivers down my back; and my copy has a Bonus Track called Go Cat Go which neatly ties up Farr’s original first love; raw Bentonia Blues and the tight and intense 60’s/70’s British/Canadian Blues Rock with a blue satin bow.
My Favourite Track here was probably the first track I played, Gettin’ Tired Of Gettin’ Old which intrigued me; as that’s how I feel these days; and boy does it live up to the title! A slow and ponderous groove overlayed with some more razors edge guitar licks and Farr growling like a Faith Healer on mogadon …. what’s not to like kids?
As I regularly say ‘all music is subjective’ so I can’t imagine Classic Blues fans who revere Joe Bonamassa or Eric Clapton or Bonnie Raitt etc. will get past track #2 here; but the cognoscenti with wider tastes and an open mind will love and cherish the PANDORA SESSIONS like a first born child.

*bass – courtesy Robert Connoly Farr himself and played in the spirit of Jimmy ‘Duck’ Holmes, RL Boyce & Leo Bud Welch et al.

Released 6th October 2023
https://www.robertconnelyfarr.com/

BUY DON’T SPOTIFY
https://robertconnelyfarr.bandcamp.com/album/pandora-sessions

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.