Bronwynne Brent UNDERCOVER

Bronwynne Brent
Undercover
Self-Release

Articulate and Fascinating Songs of Love, Loss and Longing.

Bronwynne Brent? Certainly a name I recognised; but a search of my Music Files didn’t unearth either of her previous album releases, so I must have seen her play live, surely? Nope. Nothing in the photo files either …… this left me confused.

But, that appears to be my loss; as she has a remarkable singing voice and can write a song that transcends mere labels; so I’m going for the ubiquitous ‘singer-songwriter’ tag; which actually fits her very well.
The opening song I Know It’s Late begins with Bronwynne going “Ooooooh, oooooh, ooh” in a rather slinky, cool and jazzy Blues manner that goes on to sashay and swing in the most delightful manner.
Certainly not what I was expecting; but then again ……. I don’t know what I was expecting.
The title track, Undercover follows and revolves around a neat 60’s inspired electric piano spine, with Ms Brent singing about the difficulties a young woman has finding a compatible lover these days; and includes the inspired lines:
Maybe I hurt you/but baby you’re cold
Making love to a rattlesnake
You got to be bold
.”
It’s going to be interesting to hear Bronwynne re-interpret these songs for her 2020 UK Tour; as the album has a ‘band feel’ to it, with some very tight arrangements that wouldn’t make Walking Relapse, Someone That I Loved or her fabulous take on Chuck Willis’s Whatcha Gonna Do When Your Baby Leaves You sound out of place in a sleazy and smoky Jazz Club.
But, Ms Brent’s Mississippi Roots show on the gently articulate Lost In The Moonlight and Raincoat which both combine Back-porch Country with transcendental Folk music in a way that made me sit up and listen intently.
I suppose the theme of ‘relationships’ is the golden thread that links these songs together, as Bronwynne bares her brittle soul to the world; none more so that on Big Talker and Empty Pot of Gold which are spellbinding here; and guaranteed to be showstoppers when played live.
As a general rule I try not to choose Cover Songs as my Favourite Song on a Singer-Songwriter album; so I’m ruling out her heart-stopping version of the incredible Jacques Brel missive; If You Go Away ……. but trust me; it’s a Winner in every which way!
So; I’m going to choose the smoky Torch Ballad I Walked Away as my Official Favourite Song on a rather wonderful album that is very much a ‘keeper’ and hopefully destined to nudge Bronwynne Brent up into the higher echelons of our fickle industry.

Released February 28th 2020
https://www.bronwynnebrent.com/

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.