The Woven Project LET BEAUTIFUL IN

The Woven Project
Let Beautiful In
Shy Bairn Records

Lo-Fi Soundtrack To an Imaginary Scandi Film Noir

Is there such a thing as ‘Heavy’ Lo-Fi?
If not there should be; as that’s where The Woven Project would fit in.
My goodness this isn’t the normal type of music I play; but came about after I made a request on Social Media for local acts from across NE England to get in touch with music for the website and radio show.
One of the Brian’s from the Woven Project got in touch ‘on the off chance’ that I’d play it.
‘PLAY IT’ I most certainly have over the last month; and these six tracks have acted as both a ‘palate cleanser’ between Blues, Americana, Folk and Americana reviews; as well as a couple of lonely late night sojourns reading a novel; and the results have been spellbinding.
The first time I played this EP in the office, the opening track Laura’s Kitchen (Interlude) very nearly got turned off and the CD thrown into the Oxfam box; but ‘something’ stopped me and two hours later the CD was decidedly warm after being on repeat as I downloaded future albums to review and updated my various spreadsheets.
Where musicians get influence from for songs never ceases to amaze me; but this opening song is way out of my comprehension! Brian Batey and Jasmine Weatherall’s voices combine in a ghostly fashion as a synthesiser and ever so soft bass create a mystical sound, the likes of which I can’t point you towards the likes of.
This is followed by 44; which was amusingly released as a single back in March. Sounding like it should be on a Gothic soundtrack for Film Noir murder mystery based in Northern Finland; but even though I can’t think of a radio presenter edgy enough to play it since John Peel died; that doesn’t stop it being tragically beautiful.
Perhaps that’s why I’ve fallen in love with this mini-album; it is ‘edgy’ and the polar opposite of commercial; but for every play Ed Sheeran, Adele or Lady GaGa get on the Spotify; the world needs the winsome Let Beautiful In and Laura’s Kitchen (Reprise) to counteract them and keep the earth spinning.
Which only leaves one song to talk about; Victimless Crime ….. phwoar! Atmospheric; hardly does it justice, as a beautiful violin plays softly throughout, alongside piano playing worthy of a Concert Hall, while the synthesiser, bass and drums create a sonic landscape that makes Brian Batey’s beguiling vocals almost choral in essence.
I know most musicians strive to be ‘different’ but mostly fall into the trap of creating music that is the sum total of their influences; and there’s no harm in that …. as my every growing collection proves. But The Woven Project have brought something new to my party.
Is it Ambient? Probably.
Is it Lo-Fi? Certainly.
Is it Folk? Possibly.
Combine them all together and add some secret Hartlepudlian ‘magic beans’ and you too will create mystical and magical music like this.

Vocals ~ Brian Batey
Piano/Harmonium/Synths ~ Brian Barnes
Additional Vocals ~ Jasmine Weatherill
Bass Guitar ~ Ed Leighton
Drums ~ Mark Lloyd
Engineered and Mixed by Mark Folland

Released 21st April 2023
https://linktr.ee/thewovenproject
http://www.shybairnrecords.co.uk/

BUY DON’T SPOTIFY
https://thewovenproject.bandcamp.com/track/44


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.