Lisa Redford EDGE OF LOVE EP

Lisa Redford
Edge of Love (EP)
Parrot Records

A Real Life Wild Rose Blossoms and Blooms.

Bless her Lisa Redford has been relentlessly ploughing her own furrow as a Country singer-songwriter for quite a few years now; playing gigs anywhere that would have her; often losing money once her expenses were factored in…. but ultimately honing her craft; unlike the ‘chancer’ in the hit movie Wild Rose, who is basically a karaoke singer.
Just like in that movie Lisa Redford also got to meet Sir Bob Harris; but only when she had the songs that were good enough for his Under The Apple Tree WebTV programme; and not just for a convenient tour of his BBC studio…….shame on him!
I didn’t want to rant; but when you know the work Lisa Redford has put in to get this EP pulled together, released and single-handedly promoted; that frivolous film just makes me madder and madder the more I think about it!
GRRRRRRR!

Back to life, back to reality……. with British Country Music in the ascendancy at the moment, opening track and recent single Anything But Easy (how very apt. Ed.) ticks every box for a radio hit; great melody, voice full of pathos and a story that will break every heart that hears it.
The title track, Edge of Love follows and Lisa dips her toes into the bittersweet love song area that made Faith Hill and Carrie Underwood very famous indeed; and I don’t think it’s too big a leap to say this song too; wouldn’t be out of place on American Radio stations; as the catchy chorus will find women of all ages swaying along in time.
The mood carries on with Let Go; a big ole sweeping production that underscores a sharply observed story and set of lyrics; that are meant to and will tug at the heartstrings.
It’s fair to say that this EP is at the more Commercial end of the Country spectrum that I like; but that’s not a problem when Lisa ends this short and bittersweet disc with the tragically beautiful Alone Tonight, which if you heard on the radio would surprise you to hear it was sung and written by a young British woman and not some Star singing the words of a troupe of writers from Nashville’s Music Row.
It’s fair to say I’ve been really impressed by everything here; not just Lisa’s gorgeously expressive and honeyed voice but her clever and intricate songwriting too; with both combining best of all on my Favourite Track I Just Can’t Forget, which is a real class act in itself and made me stare at the speakers in wonderment the first time I heard it.
Who knows what the future holds for this talented young woman; because as we know talent isn’t good enough on its own to make a success, but with her work ethic plus the help of people like Sir Bob (and me?) plus a touch of good luck, there’s no reason why Lisa Redford won’t be headlining theatres across the country very soon and her records crossing over into the mainstream Hit Parade; or whatever it’s called these days.

Released May 10th 2019
http://lisaredford.com/

2 thoughts on “Lisa Redford EDGE OF LOVE EP

  1. […] “It’s fair to say I’ve been really impressed by everything here; not just Lisa’s gorgeously expressive and honeyed voice but her clever and intricate songwriting too; with both combining best of all on my Favourite Track I Just Can’t Forget, which is a real class act in itself and made me stare at the speakers in wonderment the first time I heard it.” Rocking Magpie Read full review here […]

    Like

  2. […] “It’s fair to say I’ve been really impressed by everything here; not just Lisa’s gorgeously expressive and honeyed voice but her clever and intricate songwriting too; with both combining best of all on my Favourite Track I Just Can’t Forget, which is a real class act in itself and made me stare at the speakers in wonderment the first time I heard it.” Rocking Magpie Read full review here […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.