Dr. John
Ske-Dat-De-Dat (The Spirit of Satch)
The Last Record Company

The Good Doctor Updates Satchmo’s Legendary Tunes.

June 6th 2020 will mark the first anniversary of the passing of Mac Rebennack — known throughout the World as Dr. John. A day prior, on June 5, 2020The Last Music Company will release a commemorative limited vinyl edition of Ske Dat De Dat worldwide.


If you are going to record something as iconic as the Louis Armstrong songbook you better have some big colones and some pretty damn fresh ideas ……….. thankfully Dr. John had both.
The gauntlet is thrown down on the opening track What a Wonderful World which features Nicholas Payton and the Blind Boys of Alabama supporting Mac Rebbenack; who turns a much parodied Classic into a cool slice of New Orleans swing, while still majestically retaining the joy of the original.
Every song features the inimitable Dr. John singing and playing piano alongside a vast array of guest musicians and singers who each add their own unique skill sets; such as I’ve Got the World on a String which becomes a swinging duet with Bonnie Raitt; who sounds uncannily like a lusty Sarah Vaughan and later the duet with Shemekiah Coleman turns Sweet Honk O’ Trash into an X-rated Southern Soul standard.
Just to confuse the Jazz Heads out there, Mack the Knife has the Good Doctor crossing vocal swords with Terence Blanchard who actually Raps his lines over some sweet crashing Jazz chords.
I wasn’t aware of several of the singers here, but each one appears to have been chosen because they have a voice or a style that compliments both Dr. John and Satchmo himself. The arrangement on Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child is just the right side of modern Jazz to make it both commercial and delightful as Anthony Hamilton’s voice swoops and soars as Dr. John leads some of Americas finest Jazz musicians with his superb playing on the electric piano.
What else could  Ske-Dat-De-Dat end with apart from When You’re Smiling and The Dirty Dozen Brass Band blast out a good old fashioned New Orleans Jazz Band rendition that will not only make you shed tears of joy but also make the hair on the back of your neck stand on end.
The overall album is like a magic jigsaw with each track standing on its own merits but when listened to as a complete entity will take listeners into a whole new stratosphere.

1. What a Wonderful World  (4:11) w/ The Blind Boys of Alabama and Nicholas Payton
2.  Mack the Knife (6:13) w/ Mike Ladd and Terrence Blanchard
3. Tight Like This (4:52) w/ Telmary and Arturo Sandoval
4. I’ve Got the World on a String (4:04) w/ Bonnie Raitt
5. Gut Bucket Blues (2:47) w/ Nicholas Payton
6. Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child (4:45) w/ Anthony Hamilton
7. That’s My Home (3:55) w/ The McCrary Sisters and Wendell Brunious
8. Nobody Knows the Trouble I’ve Seen (4:37) w/ The McCrary Sisters and Ledisi
9. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams (6:36) w//The Blind Boys of Alabama and Terrance Blanchard
10. Dippermouth Blues (4:28) w/ James “12” Andrews
11. Sweet Hunk O’Trash (4:19) w/ Shemekia Copeland
12.  Memories of You (5:03) w/ Arturo Sandoval
13.  When You’re Smiling (The Whole World Smiles with You) (2:42) w/ The Dirty Dozen Brass Band

originally Released Europe September 1st 2014
Released on Vinyl June 5th 2020


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.