Ibrahim Ferrer VEN CONMIGO GUAJIRA (Single)

Ibrahim Ferrer
World Circuit Rcords

What a day today is proving to be music wise!
I came home from work to find three exciting/interesting CD’s waiting for me; then I opened my e-mails to find another three Album downloads of which one will most certainly find itself in my end of year Top 10 …. and I haven’t even heard it yet! But the band are one of my favourites of all time and have never, ever disappointed.
Then ……. I saw this rascal half way down the page and couldn’t believe my eyes …… yep; it is a previously ‘unheard track’ from the 2003 ‘Buenos Hermanos’ album sessions by Bueno Vista Social Club singer Ibrahim Ferrer and it’s the lead single from a brand new re-mixed and re-modelled album of the same name, by ……. the one and only Ry Cooder!

Here’s the accompanying Press Release :-

World Circuit will release a very special edition of Buena Vista vocalist Ibrahim Ferrer’s Grammy-winning second solo album ‘Buenos Hermanos’ on 28th February. 
Originally released in 2003, ‘Buenos Hermanos’ was acclaimed as an audacious and assured album firmly rooted in tradition, whilst expanding the horizons of 21st Century Cuban music with its varied repertoire and modern sound.
Producer Ry Cooder has now gone back to the original tapes to re-mix the whole album, adding four previously unheard tracks from the original album sessions to a brand new sequence, creating a completely re-imagined ‘Buenos Hermanos’. 
“It’s better than ever, if I may say,” comments Ry on the new mixes. “We went back into the session tapes and found songs that were overlooked for some reason, and you’re going to be as thrilled as I am. We’ve really polished it up and improved it and expanded it, it sounds almost brand new. There’s one thing for sure: we need something good, something beautiful in these days and times.” 
The first newly released track ‘Ven Conmigo Guajira’ is a lively interpretation of a classic Cuban country song in the romantic dance hall style. Available to listen to now, the song was originally penned by the renowned composer & bandleader Francisco ‘Machito’ Grillo (who died while performing at Ronnie Scott’s in 1984).
“We must have been crazy to leave that out,” says Ry of the track, “That’s the best version of that song I’ve ever heard.” The re-imagined version of the album also features refreshed cover artwork, featuring an alternative photograph from the original album shoot by Christien Jaspars.
As well as digital formats, the release will be available as a CD case-bound book and 180g heavyweight double vinyl, with both packages including English and Spanish lyrics, and a new foreword from Ry Cooder. 
Having retired from nearly 40 years of performing, Ibrahim Ferrer was shining shoes in 1996 when he was approached by Afro-Cuban All Stars’ band-leader Juan de Marcos González to sing on the sessions that would become the original Buena Vista Social Club album.
The record was released to phenomenal reception the following year, going on to sell over 8 million copies and catapulting Ferrer and his fellow musicians to international fame. 
‘Buenos Hermanos’ followed Ferrer’s first solo album ‘Buena Vista Social Club Presents Ibrahim Ferrer’ and was hailed at the time as a selection of fresh takes on classic songs and thrilling examples of the romantic ballads and boleros for which Ferrer was justly famed.
It won the Grammy for Best Traditional Tropical Latin Album that year. 
The handpicked core band is an unusual ensemble that combines the Cubans Orlando ‘Cachaíto’ López (bass) and Manuel Galbán (electric guitar, piano and organ), Ry Cooder (guitars), the esteemed Chucho Valdés (piano) and Miguel ‘Angá’ Díaz (congas). Additional inspired flavouring comes courtesy of accordionist Flaco Jimenez, the gospel-charged voices of the Blind Boys of Alabama and the ambient trumpet of Jon Hassell. 
Ferrer brings to these songs not only his ripe and long-standing vocal mastery, but a confidence and self-assurance that, according to Cooder, puts him up there alongside such all-time giants of Cuban music as Ferrer’s own personal hero, Beny Moré. 
“These are songs that make me feel younger,” said Ferrer at the time. “I have put my deepest feelings into them and it’s my way of giving something back to my listeners and thanking them for their support. I enjoy feeling there is something inside what I am singing.” 
‘Buenos Hermanos [Special Edition]’ 
1. Boquiñeñe
2. Música Cubana
3. Boliviana
4. Me Voy Pa’ Sibanicú*
5. Buenos Hermanos
6. Mil Congojas
7. Ojo Malvados*
8. Guaguancó Callejero
9. Hay Que Entrarle a Palos a Ése
10. Perfume De Gardenias
11. Como El Arrullo De Palma
12. Mujer *
13. No Tiene Telaraña
14. Ven Conmigo Guajira*
15. Naufragio
16. Fuiste Cruel
17. Oye El Consejo
 * previously unreleased tracks from original album sessions 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.