Barenaked Ladies – ROCKS (Red Rocks)

barenaked ladies cd

Barenaked Ladies
ROCKS (Red Rocks)
Concord/Universal

The Best of The Best of American Indie Pop.

In fairness it was Son #1 who was a Barenaked Ladies fan when he lived under our roof (the band NOT actual Bare Naked Ladies, but I suppose……) not me; although he played their Pirate Ship and Stunt album loud and on heavy rotation; so I became a fan by default.
Still touring with the same nucleus as when they first formed in 1988 and still recording left of centre ‘interesting’ Pop Music in the way only American bands can (I’m thinking Steely Dan and Cheap Trick among a myriad of others) this album is something of a warts n all Greatest Hits with the inclusion of a couple of newer songs thrown in for good measure.
You hear the crowd go crazy as they welcome the band to the stage and turn a few knobs and whistles before going into a smooth as silk Get Back Up and the show is firmly ‘on the road.’
As expected the musicianship from Robertson, Hearn, Creegan and Stewart is extraordinarily good and the whip-smart lyrics are even better than I’d remembered.
While not aux fait with every song here; I absolutely loved the tongue in cheek Brian Wilson; which made me think I should have added the Beach Boys to that original list of Great American Pop Bands; as they are with hindsight an obvious influence.
While there aren’t any long stories between songs; there is just enough ‘banter’ to keep your interest and even make you smile, especially between Falling For the First Time and the rather excellent Passcode.
There are even a couple of songs here that have really piqued my interest and if I can find the time, because of the beautiful piano on Light Up My Room will re-investigate it and also Falling For The First Time.
But what the Barenaked Ladies (appear to) do best are those quirky fun; yet still intelligent songs like the sing-along Gonna Walk, Duct Tape Heart (trust me it’s a cracker!) and of course their signature tune….If I Had £1,000,000 which has the crowd matching them with harmonies.
That said; my favourite song here really does sum them up and probably earned them more money than everything else and its the theme tune to Big Bang Theory which I seemed to know every single word.
But just when you think you can’t love them any more they close the show with……. Led Zeppelin’s…..Rock & Roll!!!!

Released May 20th 2016

http://www.barenakedladies.com/

Leave a Reply

