Ben Abraham – Sirens

ben abraham pol

Ben Abraham
Sirens
Secretly Canadian

Australian Singer-Songwriter Elbows Out the Competition With Debut Album.

Sometimes it takes a couple of plays to get my head around some albums; others can even take weeks; but every now and again an opening song takes my breath away and makes me stop what I’m doing; to actually listen to what the singer has to say.
That was the case with Ben Abraham on the 1 minute and 50 seconds of Sirens which opens this wonderful disc’ and when it was followed by the enigmatic Time I very nearly forgot to breathe!
‘Ethereal’ springs to mind; as does ‘plaintive’ and even ‘cinematic’ to describe the way Abraham’s golden voice soars over some quality guitar and percussion.
I’m very impressed with Ben’s way with words; he is an exceptional songwriter for one so young – You and Me; Speak and Somebody’s Mother are simply superb; the later so quiet I found myself leaning towards the speaker so as not to miss a word.
Just to add a bit of spice to the album; on the orally brittle, This is On Me Ben opens the song; but is eventually joined by Sara Bareilles; and what a wonderful pair they make; making me pine for an album of songs just like it.
Where do I start with my favourite track? The smoky and sad She, is certainly a contender; as is A Quiet Prayer, which closes the album; but the song that makes me go weak at the knees every time I hear it is To Love Someone; with it’s Brass Band in the background; because I’ve always been an old romantic.
To be honest I’m not sure how to describe Ben Abraham’s singing ‘style;’ as there are elements of Jazz in there; a smidgen of Folk, but also a feel of the classic singer-songwriters from the 70’s and 80’s that I grew up with and, to some degree Guy Garvey from beat combo Elbow; all in all it sounds very ‘grown up;’ something to listen to with a glass of something ‘nice’ in your hand at the end of the day.

http://www.benabraham.com.au/

Released March 7th 2016

Leave a Reply

